Hungry Hawks

If you’ve read my blogs before, you know that I enjoy using my passion for wildlife and my pun-making skills to write song parodies. Last year, I posted a parody titled “Bird of Paradise” based on the Coldplay song “Paradise”. Now I’ve decided to mangle improve another Coldplay song using birds of prey. Before we get to the song, let me talk to you about Chukars. Chukars are partridges that are native to Eurasia and were introduced to the western U.S. as a game species. They forage around the ground, primarily feeding on seeds and grains. This song is about a hawk who hunts many animals, but ultimately longs to feast upon a tasty chukar. Coldplay, I apologize for using one of your most famous songs in this way. Enjoy!

ChukarImage result for northern goshawk

Left – Chukar. Right – Hungry Northern Goshawk.

Hawks (Based on Coldplay’s “Clocks”)

The kites come out and I can’t be saved
Winds that I tried to fly against
Have blown feathers into my beak
Oh I want, I want to eat a grebe, singing

Come out to the ducks and bread
Tear the wing off a redhead, and a,
Cardinal that can’t be named
A raptor’s waiting to be tamed, singing

Chukar Chukar

Confusion among the flocks
The screeching calls of the hungry hawks, gonna,
Scare prey back to its home
Why can’t they stop, the jay and crow, singing

Watch out O chickadees
Scold missed opportunities, should I,
Fly now to the fields
Or should I wait up in the trees, singing

Chukar Chukar
Chukar Chukar
Chukar Chukar

And now I just eat hares
And now I just eat hares
And now I just eat hares

Chukar Chukar

Home, home, where I wanted to roam
Home, home, where I wanted to roam
Home, home, where I wanted to roam (Chukar)
Home, home, where I wanted to roam (Chukar)

Leave a Reply

