Catching Birds

Apparently 3 summers of chasing after birds in southern Indiana wasn’t enough for me, as I’m currently helping with a project studying Worm-eating Warblers and banding birds in areas where all the trees have been harvested (clearcuts). There are some really cool things about the clearcuts, such as a multitude of thorny shrubs, exposure to the hot sun, and venomous rattlesnakes which hide in the net lanes. The diversity of birds which forage or move through these habitats is surprisingly high. I’ll share some cool pictures and talk more about the birds in another blog. For now, I’m going to talk about Cerulean Warblers, which are beautiful birds that are listed as threatened in many states. These warblers tend to utilize portions of the upper canopy, making them difficult to see. Several of the friends I’ve made here are working on a project with these warblers and chasing after them in an effort to find nests and capture males. The captured males are then tagged with a geolocator that can track the movements of the males and provide information about the habitats used, including wintering grounds. Cerulean Warblers are challenging to study and capture, so in honor of a recent victory (3 birds captured in one day!), I wrote another song parody using the popular song “Titanium”.

 

Cerulean (To the tune of David Guetta’s Titanium)

Verse 1

I shout it out, and not a word you hear me say

I’m singing loud not saying much

Raise the noise, but all your playback ricochets

I’m chipping now, not saying much

Chorus

I’m in the trees, flitting around

Fly away fly away

Then you try, to track me down

Fly away fly away

You set the net, but I won’t come

I am Cerulean

You set the net, but I won’t come

I am Cerulean

Verse 2

Hear me zeet, but still you cannot find my nest

The canopy, has many leaves

You lift your eyes, but I just fly the other way

You hurt your neck just looking up

Chorus

I’m in the trees, flitting around

Fly away fly away

Then you try, to track me down

Fly away fly away

You set the net, but I won’t come

I am Cerulean

You set the net, but I won’t come

I am Cerulean

Bridge

Blue flash, quick zeet

Crane your neck and try to see

Blue flash, I keep flying pa-a-a-a-a-a-a-ast

Chorus + tag

You set the net, but I won’t come

I am Cerulean

You set the net, but I won’t come

I am Cerulean

You set the net, but I won’t come

I am Cerulean

 

 

Leave a Reply

