Jays and Eagles: A Love Story

Jays have an interesting reputation. Jay Leno is known for stand-up comedy, a great car collection, and a large chin. Jay Z is a famous rapper and music producer who boldly named his daughter Blue Ivy. Then you have Blue Jays, perky birds that work in flocks, munch on nuts, and pirate eggs from other songbirds. Hmm . . . if Jay Z joined the Blue Man Group, would he become Blue Jay Z? Anyway, jays are known for harassing large birds of prey such as eagles. However, sometimes love can arise out of conflict. This is a story about a jay falling for a Harpy Eagle, one of the largest and fiercest eagles in the world, and how their flocks come together despite interference by magpies (cousins of jays). I know I know, eagles don’t travel in flocks. They do in desperate times. By the way, harpys have been known to take down sloths and monkeys! Now I present you with my take on a modern wedding song (“You and Me” by Lifehouse).

Blue jay adult portraitHarpy eagle, front view  Magpie portrait

A match made in heaven cannot be ruined by magpies.

Blue and Harpy
(Sung to the tune of Lifehouse’s “You and Me”)

What jay is that? And in what tree?
This flock never seemed so alive
I can’t keep up and I just can’t see
All the birds that are blowing my mind

Cause it’s Blue and Harpy, with all of the eagles
There’s flying to do, no time to lose
And it’s Blue and Harpy, and all of the eagles
And I don’t know why, I can’t keep magpies off of you

All of the things that you want to say
Just aren’t coming out right
I know it’s because, you’re just a jay
But can’t you just call out in flight?

Cause it’s Blue and Harpy, with all of the eagles
There’s flying to do, no time to lose
And it’s Blue, Harpy, and all of the eagles
And I don’t know why, I can’t keep magpies off of you

Something about your face
So full of brilliant gray
Everything she does is powerful
Everything she does shows might

Cause it’s Blue and Harpy, with all of the eagles
There’s flying to do, no time to lose
And it’s Blue and Harpy, and all of the eagles
And I don’t know why, I can’t keep magpies off of
Blue and Harpy, with all of the eagles
There’s flying to do, no time to lose
And it’s Blue and Harpy, and all of the eagles
And I don’t know why, I can’t keep magpies off of you
What jay is that? And in what tree?
This flock never seemed so alive

Leave a Reply

