Superbird: The Song of a Heron

A few summers ago I was doing bird work in southern Indiana. I spent much of my time on an old army base that had been converted to a wildlife refuge. During the drives out to my sites, I would often spot a Great Blue Heron wading in the ponds and streams throughout the refuge. After consistently seeing a heron by one creek crossing, I decided to name the heron ‘Jerome’. Every time I saw a blue heron I would call out “Jerome!” My coworkers tried to tell me that Jerome couldn’t be everywhere on the refuge, but they didn’t know Jerome like I did. Jerome was a superbird and therefore my next birdsong parody is dedicated to him. With apologies to Five for Fighting, here is Superbird.

Great blue heron wading through water

Superbird (It’s Not Easy)

I can’t stand to fly
I don’t feel that free
I’m just out to find
The beautiful blue sea

I’m more than a duck
I’m more than a crane
I’m more than some pretty bird out in the rain
And it’s not easy to be me

I wish that I could sing
Rest beneath the trees
Eat bugs on the wing
Without any bee sting

It may sound absurd, to call like a reed
Taking water baths down in the stream
If I am disturbed, you better take heed
My bill will cut your skin and make you bleed
And it’s not easy to be me

Up, up and away, away from me
Well that’s alright
You can still sleep sound tonight
I don’t have rabies or anything

I can’t stand to fly
I don’t feel that free
Birds weren’t meant to ride
With legs out in the breeze

I’m only a bird with a silly long beak
Digging for juicy frogs in this mountain stream
Only a bird with a silly long beak
Longing for special wings outside of me
Outside of me, outside of me [x2]

I’m only a bird with a silly long beak
I’m only a bird looking for a dream
I’m only a bird with a silly long beak
And it’s not easy
It’s not easy to be me

Leave a Reply

