The Liebster Award

Recently, I was nominated for a Liebster Award by kattiekate.  As I understand it, the Liebster Award is basically a way of encouraging people to check out new/interesting blogs.  Thanks for the nomination Kate!  Below is a list of questions I was asked to answer.  By the way, if you take the second letter of the third word of every answer, you’ll have the password to my online banking account.

1.  If you could trade places with anyone in the world, who would it be/why?

Batman.  I’ve always wanted to run around in the dark and beat up bad guys.  Plus, I’d get to wear a cool suit and drive awesome vehicles.  There’s also the part where I’d be filthy rich and have every technological advance at my disposal.  And who wouldn’t want to have a secret underground hideout with a waterfall?

2.  Who is your current music obsession?

Lately I’ve been listening a lot to The Afters.  I really have enjoyed their latest album ‘Life is Beautiful’.  My very first blog on WordPress was about how life is beautiful 

3.  Quick! What are you thinking about?

Right now I am thinking about ice cream and animals.  I am an ice cream fanatic and cannot live long without a scoop (or three) of delicious goodness.  I’m also thinking about animal behavior and how scared I am since I discovered Cockatoos can pick locks.  From now on I am going to keep a handful of nuts by my bed in case an angry Cockatoo breaks into my house.

4.  Who is your favorite artist/why?

If we’re talking about creative arts, then I will go with Michelangelo.  His work on the Sistine Chapel is just incredible.  He also had a great alternate life as a Ninja Turtle and loved pizza.  What’s not to like?

5.  What is your favorite zoo animal/why?

That’s a tough one.  As a zoologist, I really enjoy working with animals and studying them.  I guess the Red Panda would be one of my favorites because it has beautiful fur and is cute.  I’m also a big fan of toucans and whatever animals are actively moving around their exhibit instead of sleeping.

6.  Have you read any good books lately?

Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand (author of Seabiscuit: An American Legend) is one of the best books I have ever read.  This book chronicles the life of Louis Zamperini, an Olympic runner who was called into duty during World War II.  Taken as a POW by the Japanese, his story is full of tragedy, heartbreak, inspiration and redemption.  If you want a book that will move you, that will make you cry and cheer, I highly recommend Unbroken.

7. What is your hobby?

I have several hobbies, including basketball, chess, birding and hacking the Pentagon.  I really enjoy reading and spending time in nature.

8. What is your favorite pickup line?

To be honest, I’m the type of guy who wants to get to know a girl as a friend before considering a relationship.  But if I did use pickup lines, my favorite would probably be “I was so enchanted by your beauty that I ran into that wall over there. So I am going to need your name and number for insurance purposes.”

9.  What is your favorite word/why?

Hmm . . . haven’t really thought that much about my favorite word before.  One of my favorite words would have to be fantastical, which conjures images of wonderful and fanciful things.

10.  If you could, what would you change about yourself?

I wish that my eyesight was 20/20 so I didn’t have to wear glasses.  They’re a pain to keep clean and sometimes they break when a basketball smashes you in the face.  I can’t wear contacts because of how sensitive my eyes are.  I want to have the eyes of a hawk.  If I could get lasers to come out of my eyes like Cyclops that would be cool too.

Here are ten other blogs I have nominated for a Liebster Award.

One tired guy’s thoughts

Wildlifewatcher’s Blog

Jennifer Windram

Any Given Monday

Time For Tea

Thinking Out Loud

Leslie Says What?!

Pete’s Favourite Things

Getting The Picture

Things I Hate . . . Some I Like

The rules are:

-Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them.
-Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
-Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
-Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
-Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them

Here are the ten questions

  1. What is your favorite breakfast food?
  2. If you could travel to any place in the world, where would you go?
  3. Who is someone who inspires you?
  4. What was your least favorite class in school and why?
  5. Are you an optimist, a pessimist or a realist?
  6. What is your favorite movie quotation?
  7. Who wins the cuteness battle; dogs or cats?
  8. Which celebrity annoys you the most?
  9. What is your favorite season and why?
  10. The silliest thing I have done in the last week is . . .
5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

